Album Cover
Brave Saint Saturn
The Light of Things Hoped For
Tooth & Nail
March 25, 2003


It's an album, to be sure. The first track is a ominous reading dealie, explaining the plot of the CD. CDs do have plots, you know. Anyhow, this space ship, the Gloria, pulls an Apollo 13 and vents gasses. Everyone is all worried, so they decided to make an album. The first song, "Sun Also Rises," is a song about hope, for when things look dark, the sun will rise someday. "Mercury" is another plot progression dealie, complete with newsish music and voice! "Enamel" is a self-aware rant against the lead singer's former fiancee, who left him, apparently. Features a bizarre Spanish part.

"Anastasia" is about the replacement Fiancee, though it is far less cynical then everything else on this CD. "Titan" puts your right back in your depression-induced fog, with the least hopeful lyrics on the whole thing ("Destroy, Divide, The dark, Inside"). "Gemini" is another news segment. Decent, as long as you don't mind the fact it isn't a song. The CD moves along at the current pace until "Heart Still Beats," which a) is sung by a different guy and b) features turntable scratching during the second verse. It belongs in my favorites because it is so different from all the other songs.

The rest of the CD does little to stand out, so they are not reviewed individually. In the end, everything works out, they see the daylight, and all is good.

Overall, a tad repetitive, but it does the astro-space-pop-rock genre a world of good.

Nick Petschl

Track List

  1. Prologue
  2. The Sun Also Rises
  3. Binary
  4. Mercury
  5. Enamel
  6. Anastasia
  7. Titan
  8. Gemini
  9. Estrella
  10. Heart Still Beats
  11. Babies Breath
  12. I Fell Away
  13. Recall
  14. Atropos
  15. Daylight