Album Cover
Of Montreal
Satanic Panic in the Attic
April 06, 2004


Of Montreal, with it's longest arm, will grab your skinniest wrist and intravenously inject PureJoy©. Well, I'm no M.D., and can't say if this won't make you grow a third nostril, but I can say it will have beneficial detriments to your ears. With all these body parts flyin' around, it's easy to paint a visceral sonic description of Satanic Panic in the Attic, which, besides having one of the cutest album titles of this year, offers a very cuddly variety of psych-pop. With Satanic Panic in the Attic, Of Montreal makes it's best record yet.

Of Montreal's sound hasn't as much changed as been refined. There is still the fine medley of sixties-ish pop music, featuring some charming tenor vocals that are prone to shatter into la-la-la's. But, surrounding the vocals are an effective barrage of Kinky guitars, dainty keyboardelica, and a macabre of flute-y cello-y melod-y. The centerpiece here, though, is the vocals of songwriter Kevin Barnes, who sings with as much magnetism as any of his contemporaries or even the old-timers he compliments by homage.

Through each track, Barnes either pokes at the harmonious affectations of the Beach Boys, the psychedelics of Sgt. Peppers, or the structure of fellow Elephant 6 kiddies, Olivia Tremor Control. Though, to try to pin down the entire album's sound under those influences would be misguided, for Of Montreal are, here, much more intelligent than a retro-rehash.

Album opener "Disconnect the Dots" begins the record on a electronically charged high note that continues through most of the album in an organic modum operandi. The fourteen tracks are kosher appropriate and filler-lite. "Will You Come and Fetch Me" is the most startlingly Beatles-esque, and stands in especially high form. Other tracks skip and hum-along in distinct variety and light-heartedness, with themes that cover corpse kissing or ladder climbing to loved ones'. There are innumerable gems here, that only take a listen or three to discover. If nothing else, this album will act to gather more believers to The Cause. Which, is to hand over all governmental affairs to the hivemind of the Elephant 6 and one day pledge allegiance to the United States Of Montreal.

Jacob Daley

Track List

  1. Disconnect the Dots
  2. Lysergic Bliss
  3. Will You Come and Fetch Me
  4. My British Tour Diary
  5. Rapture Rapes the Muses
  6. Eros' Entropic Tundra
  7. City Bird
  8. Erroneous Escape into Erik Eckles
  9. Chrissie Kiss the Corpse
  10. Your Magic Is Working
  11. Climb the Ladder
  12. How Lester Lost His Wife
  13. Spike the Senses
  14. Vegan in Furs