Album Cover
Everyone Down Here
Palm Pictures
April 22, 2003


I've got to wonder, at any given point, how many music critics are sitting in their local laundromat assessing some body of music while waiting for their spin cycle to finish. While I attempt to avoid cliché, I can't help but put on my black plastic crown of headphones and think deep thoughts of the finer arts as the guy next to me washes his pink panties. I slipped in Earlimart's Everyone Down Here and slightly worried about not hearing my buzzer. Honestly, I've listened to this album numerous times over the past several months and was always hesitant to place an early judgment on the album in the hopes that some hidden greatness would jump out at me. The only thing that has really suctioned itself to my memory is the excellent art/packaging and three music videos bundled with the disc.

Lead singer/guitarist Aaron Espinoza writes short songs of isolation and turbulence and then delivers them in a hushed vocal routine reminiscent of bands such as Sparklehorse. Strangely, I'm reminded of a bratty child who tells you they have a secret to whisper into your ear, you get closer to hear what's so important, and they reveal only details of flatulence. Of course, Espinoza writes of oh-so serious things but does so in depressing mediocrity. "Damn it! Why'd you call me over here to tell me that?"

The extensive production experience Espinoza brings to the table is apparent in several of the album's tracks. "We Drink on the Job" very effectively uses the piano that was so damn well advertised in all the Tower Records promos. "Piano-driven this, piano-driven that," I was more impressed by the wall of distortion in "Burning the Cow." The slow fractural sound, from the once post-punk laden unit, brings more of an esoteric feeling to the songs, but what is gained in the mysterious is lost in the lack of communication. No matter, if all else fails you can just fall asleep to the album as Espinoza shushes words into your ear.

The album does feel grander than the length would suppose, as it clocks in at only a healthy half-hour. While good and easily listenable, I was hoping for Earlimart to knock the ball out of the park or strike the hell out. In the end, they've managed to make a moody album conveying epic themes but breaking no new ground as far as moody epic albums go.

Jacob Daley

Track List

  1. We're So Happy (We Left the Piano in the Trunk)
  2. We Drink on the Job
  3. The Movies
  4. Lost at Sea
  5. Burning the Cow
  6. Hospital
  7. Lazy Feet 23
  8. Big Ol' Black
  9. Dreaming Of...
  10. Night, Nite